WWE: Why is Seth Rollins still in FCW?

What’s wrong with the WWE?

I found myself asking this question at the conclusion of each episode of WWE programming that preceded CM Punk’s infamous shoot on the July 27th edition of Monday Night RAW. While I’ll admit that the WWE did provide fresh, compelling, and extraordinary programming in the weeks that followed, I once again find myself asking “What’s wrong with the WWE?”

Thing is, I’m not referring to current WWE programming as a whole but it’s more of who they decide to bring out of their developmental territory, Florida Championship Wrestling (FCW). For example, FCW “alumni” Mason Ryan, David Otunga, and Jinder Mahal exemplify the phrase, GREEN, when it comes to professional wrestling.

Despite my personal objections, each has retained a position on the WWE’s main roster. For me, this displayed FCW in a negative light as I refused to watch their matches considering the level of mediocrity brought to the main roster by World Wrestling Entertainment. That is, until I watched my first Ring of Honor pay per view, Glory by Honor IX.

For the first time in months, pro wrestling sent me into a short period of introspection. Instead of proclaiming wrestling as boring, predictable, and political, I felt as if pro wrestling was an art. Instead of the entertainment and pro wrestling conglomerate known as the WWE, I was star struck by the silent enigma known as Ring of Honor.

Besides the familiar faces of Shelton Benjamin, Charlie Hauss, Balls Mahoney, and Daivari, I was particularly impressed by Tyler Black.  When I joined the B/R, one of the first articles I read pertained to him inking a developmental deal with the WWE. Most of the writers spoke highly of Black, proclaiming him to be a main event talent before his debut. As a fan that’d rather be in awe of flash and the high flying genre, you can imagine my reaction to Black and his exquisite wrestling style.

From my point of view, I was the connoisseur while Black was the proverbial artiste.

Initially, I felt an undying feeling of regret for brushing Ring of Honor off as I would calmly use the “I’ll watch it another time” whenever someone recommended the relatively unknown wrestling company (casual fans). If it had not have been for an article by a friend, it’s likely that I would’ve never watched Glory by Honor that night.

Nonetheless, the sensational feeling of nostalgia brought me to an FCW match featuring Seth “Tyler Black” Rollins and Dean “Jon Moxley” Ambrose. In 15 minutes (twice the amount of a typical WWE match), Rollins and Ambrose impressed me more than anything the WWE has produced in some time.

As spectacular as the first match was, the second was that much better. At this point, I was bewildered by the WWE and their decision to bring superstars like Ryan, Otunga, and Mahal up to the main roster while Rollins was approaching his first year in WWE developmental.

When the final match in the Ambrose/Rollins trilogy debuted on YouTube Monday afternoon, I felt inclined to reiterate my earlier claim and questioned why Rollins (and Ambrose for that matter) are still in FCW. Despite the answer being in my face, I ignored the proverbial writing on the wall.

Simply put, the same thing that plagues 90% of the current WWE roster plagues extremely talented guys like Seth Rollins down in FCW. WWE Creative doesn’t have storyline direction for any of them. It’s either this or Vincent Kennedy McMahon’s bodybuilder fetish making its presence felt once again.

Disagree? Ask Dolph Ziggler, Mason Ryan, and Zack Ryder.

It’s sad that I could create a role for Rollins over the space of fifteen minutes after a quick observation of WWE Programming and what the company is in need of.

On a somber note, Seth Rollins could find himself in John Morrison’s spot if the Prince of Parkour leaves the WWE when his contract is up.

Whenever Rollins finally pops up on my television screen, I’ll rejoice at the thought of this guy with unlimited potential leaving his mark on the WWE and its disputed fan base.

2 Comments

  1. Love the article,

    Is it me or could Rollins be Morrison and Punk’s younger brother?


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 10 other followers

  • October 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31